Mr Bell Walks The Brooklyn Bridge

019_edited-1

Awake bright and early thanks to my jetlag I decided to get myself up and take an early morning trip to the Brooklyn Bridge. Heading off at just after 6 am I took the subway to Clark Street, it was a beautiful morning and after exiting the subway I easily found my way down to Brooklyn Bridge Park. 

002_edited-1

Brooklyn Bridge Park is a pretty little spot on the banks of the East River and one of the best places to see the bridge and the Manhattan skyline from. As it was early there was hardly anyone around apart from a few joggers and dog walkers so I had the place more or less to myself.

012_edited-1

013_edited-1

The park isn’t that big but there’s plenty of areas to stop, sit and take in the views, there’s also some bright orange coloured modern art installations dotted around.

011_edited-1

005_edited-1

As I sat drinking my coffee it was great just watching the place wake up and come to life, the ferries going backwards and forwards across the river, the traffic building up on the bridge and people setting off for work.

006_edited-1

026_edited-1

When I’d seen what I wanted to see and taken some photo’s I worked my way back to a point from where I could enter the bridge. The pedestrian walkway on the Brooklyn Bridge is actually raised up above the traffic which is great as it gives you great views of both sides.

031_edited-1

The Brooklyn Bridge is a hybrid cable stayed suspension bridge and is one of the oldest bridges of it’s type in the United States having been completed in 1883. It’s approximately a mile long.

038_edited-1

035_edited-1

I was walking from the Brooklyn side towards Manhattan which is apparently the best way to do the bridge as the views towards Manhattan are more spectacular.

009_edited-1

023_edited-1

As I walked across looking to my left you could see Governors Island and the famous Staten Island Ferries in their bright orange livery with the iconic Statue of Liberty in the background.

045_edited-1

016_edited-1

Also on my left and ahead of me was the familiar skyline of New York with it’s huge skyscrapers including the new “Freedom Tower”, officially known as One World Trade Center.

032_edited-1

To the right of me is the midtown part of the city with New York’s two most recognised buildings in the distance, the Empire State Building and the Chrysler Building, both proudly soaring through the other buildings.

024_edited-1

043_edited-1

The Manhattan Bridge is also on my right gleaming in the sunshine but sitting in the shadow of its more famous neighbour.

030_edited-1

There are some great views from the bridge but the bridge itself has to also be appreciated. The towers that hold the suspension cables are made from limestone, granite and Rosendale cement, the granite blocks were quarried and shaped in Maine, New England.

046_edited-1

036_edited-1

It’s worth stopping – remembering to stay out of the way of those busy New Yorker’s – and taking a minute to admire the bridge and all its features, it was quite a feat of engineering in its time.

037_edited-1

039_edited-1

Finally I came to the end of the bridge and stepped back on to land in Manhattan. If you’re visiting New York go down there and walk the Brooklyn Bridge, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

