Mr Bell In Vancouver: A Waterfront Walk

IMG_3722

Its just gone 6am, the sun is shining and I’m already out and about in the beautiful city of Vancouver. As it’s such a lovely day I decide to head down to the waterfront and take a slow walk along to Stanley Park.

IMG_3647

As you’d expect at 6 o’clock on a Sunday morning the streets of Vancouver were quiet with the exception of a few joggers and some people like me just enjoying being out. I started my walk at Canada Place, it’s the home of the Vancouver Convention Centre, the Pan Pacific Hotel and the Vancouver Cruise Ship Terminal. As I arrived two large cruise ships were docking just back from their Alaskan adventures, it was quite something watching them dock.

IMG_3653

IMG_3642

IMG_3649

The Seaplane terminal is just a little further along the waterfront with its jetties filled with planes bobbing around on the water just waiting to take their passengers across to Victoria, Whistler and the Southern Gulf Islands. It’s worth stopping for a few minutes as you’ll usually see one or two of the planes taking off or landing.

IMG_3659

IMG_3660

IMG_3661

The scenery along the sea wall is quite spectacular with the city of Vancouver behind you with its towering buildings and the forest covered mountains rising gently out of the water in the distance.

IMG_3658

IMG_3664

IMG_3668

There are lots of marinas along the way filled with luxury yachts and some quirky house boats.

IMG_3675

IMG_3678

IMG_3679

Eventually I find myself in Stanley Park, one of the largest parks in North America. There are some great views of downtown Vancouver and the city skyline from the park’s seawall.

IMG_3688

IMG_3686

The park is vast and much too big for me to see in a few hours so I decided to pick a couple of things to do and leave the rest for another visit.

IMG_3690

First off I went to the Rock Garden which was started in 1911 by master gardener John Montgomery from boulders excavated for the construction of the new Stanley Park Pavilion, the Rock Garden was the first public garden in Vancouver.

IMG_3695

IMG_3699

IMG_3700

The park is filled with remote pathways that go on for miles bordered by some massive trees that make you feel a million miles away from the busy city.

IMG_3693

IMG_3692

The Stanley Park sea wall offers some incredible views of English Bay with its stunning mountainous backdrop.

IMG_3704

IMG_3705

My next stop in the park was the First nations art and totem poles area. The nine totem poles at Brockton Point are British Colombia’s most visited tourist attraction. None of the totem poles are original – they’ve gone to museums for preservation – but the replacements are quite a sight and well worth visiting.

IMG_3715

IMG_3717

IMG_3719

Brockton Point is also home to the Brockton Point Lighthouse, named after Francis Brockton and built over 100 years ago it is the most easterly part of Stanley Park.

IMG_3720

Back on the sea wall and I come across the figurehead from the ship the Empress of Japan. The ship was originally an ocean liner built in England for Canadian Pacific Steamships and regularly sailed the trans Pacific route between the west coast of Canada and the far east. When the ship was scrapped the figurehead was salvaged and placed on display in the park, it was replaced with a replica in 1960 as the original began to deteriorate.

IMG_3710

IMG_3709

Also along this part of the sea wall is the life sized bronze sculpture by Elek Imredy called “Girl in a Wetsuit”. It’s located on a rock in the water and depicts a friend of Imredy’s, Debra Harrington, in a wetsuit with flippers on her feet and a mask on her forehead.

IMG_3712

IMG_3711

I got back to my hotel at just before midday feeling tired but very satisfied at the walk I’d just done, I’m not sure how many miles I’d covered but my feet told me it must have been quite a few. Vancouver’s a beautiful city and somewhere that I hope I can spend some more time exploring soon.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

One thought on “Mr Bell In Vancouver: A Waterfront Walk”

Leave a Reply

