Hotel Review: The Grand Hyatt Doha

Grand-Hyatt-Doha-1

Hotel Overview

The Grand Hyatt Doha is a large business and leisure hotel situated on the West Bay shoreline at the start of the causeway leading to the Pearl, Qatar. Comprising 249 guest rooms and suites along with 91 villas set in extensive grounds the hotel offers its guests a relaxing and comfortable stay.

IMG_0492

There are seven innovative food and beverage outlets offering a wide selection of international cuisine and local flavours prepared by the hotels in-house chefs.

The hotel also features two outdoor swimming pools, a private beach, a luxury spa, a fully equipped fitness centre and an extensive conference and event space.

2319245_78_z

Check In

On arrival at the hotel my bags were taken and I was shown to the front desk where I was checked in quickly and without fuss, within a few minutes I had my key and was on my way up to my room.

The lobby of the hotel is large and quite grand with a calming water feature in the middle, the check in area is off to the right and is more intimate. Staff there were friendly and efficient. I was offered Arabic coffee and dates.

Accommodation

My room was on the third floor and had a large king size bed. I was very impressed by the room it was large and had plenty of storage space. There was all the usual stuff you’d expect to find in a hotel of this standard but one thing that did impress me was that with the tea and coffee making things apart from the usual kettle, cups etc was a full size tea pot, brilliant! Finally someone’s realised that not everybody drinks just coffee, I just thought it was a nice touch.

IMG_0469

Other things to note in the room was that there was a good selection of English speaking TV channels, the WIFI was pretty good and there was plenty of room to work, if needed.

IMG_0470

IMG_0476

The bathroom was very nice with a large soaking style bath, a separate shower with rain head and a regular shower attachment and a separate toilet area. The area around the sink was perfect for me as it had plenty of space to spread out all of my bits and pieces. The bathroom was also well stocked with towels, robes and shampoo, shower gels etc.

IMG_0471

IMG_0475

IMG_0472

The room also had a private balcony with some very comfortable chairs and a small table on it although the temperature outside was so hot I was unable to make the most of it.

IMG_0482

Restaurants & Bars

As mentioned earlier the hotel has seven food outlets which all looked very nice. I used Biscotti which serves tea, coffee, smoothies and shakes as well as light snacks, although quite heavily priced as you’d expect in a hotel like this, my purchase, which was a latte and a small pear tart was delicious.

IMG_0493

I later ordered a mezza on room service which was delivered quickly and was demolished by me just as quickly. The hummus and babaganoush were excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

There is a shopping mall just across the road where I was told you can get food and drinks at much more reasonable prices although I never visited myself.

Hotel Facilities

The hotel has three swimming pools, one indoor and two outdoor. When I visited the pools were very quiet, probably because of the temperature as it was in excess of 50 degrees! There were plenty of comfortable loungers available at the pool and they were well spread out giving you plenty of personal space. The pools themselves are large but one thing I found was that the water was extremely hot, like a hot bath, not particularly comfortable to soak or swim in when the temperature is so hot outside.

IMG_0490

IMG_0484

The private beach area looked comfortable and there were plenty of loungers to use. There was also a beach bar serving drinks and snacks.

IMG_0488

The hotel also boasts a state of the art fitness centre and a luxury award winning spa offering guests a fulfilling experience for mind, body and spirit.

Staff

The staff at the Grand Hyatt were efficient and seemed to be just getting on with their jobs. The people I came into contact with were friendly enough but there wasn’t any real interaction, polite but distant is how I’d describe them.

In My Opinion

I had a lovely stay at the Grand Hyatt in Doha in a very nice, clean, comfortable room. I would say the hotel is a good choice for the business traveller or someone looking to unwind for a few days in the warm weather.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

