Hotel Review: Courtyard Marriott Gatwick Airport

courtyardlgw1

Hotel Overview

The Courtyard at London Gatwick Airport is a hotel suitable for both business and leisure travellers, on this occasion the reason for my stay was leisure. The hotel is very convenient and is actually within walking distance of the South Terminal. All rooms here have been recently renovated and are what you’d expect to find in this style of Marriott property. The beds, as usual with Marriott are very comfortable. Each room offers individual climate control, laptop sized safes, tea and coffee making facilities and a work desk.

The hotel boasts a reasonable  sized and well equipped gym. The onsite restaurant, the Casterbridge Grill offers a good varied menu and there’s also a nice bar just off the reception area.

Check In

I had booked a package which included car parking for the duration of my holiday. On arrival I parked the car at the hotels car park and went to check in. I was dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manor and was quickly given my room key and directions to the lifts. Before going to my room I had to sort the car out and was directed to a nearby desk. After giving the guy there all my details the car was taken care of and would be brought back to me when I arrived back from holiday.

courtyardlgw2

Just a note about the car parking package: I found the cheapest deal was through Marriott’s own website, they were actually £20 cheaper than the nearest price I found. The package included the room and eight days meet and greet parking.

Accommodation

I was booked into a room on the fourth floor. The room was typically Marriott – which I very much like – spacious, a large king sized bed, and plenty of storage space and room to move. The room was clean and tidy and had everything I needed for my short stay. The TV had a good selection of channels and there was plenty of tea and coffee to get me going in the morning. If I had needed to work there was a large desk with good lighting and plenty of sockets for charging up those all important gadgets.

IMG_0497

IMG_0499

IMG_0502

IMG_0501

The bathroom was small but functional with a pretty standard shower over the bath set up. There were plenty of towels and a good selection of bath products to use.

IMG_0503

IMG_0504

IMG_0505

Restaurant & Bar

The Casterbridge Restaurant according to the hotel websites blurb is an award winning restaurant serving the best steaks in the Gatwick area, now I can’t comment on this as I didn’t eat in the restaurant but I can tell you that the menu looked pretty good with a good choice of food and drinks. The room looked comfortable, bright and airy.

courtyardlgw3

The bar area sits right next to the restaurant and is just off the reception, it’s very open plan but nice and bright with large windows. It was fairly busy when I went down for a drink and it did take a while for somebody to serve me, not a problem, just a small irritation. The bar serves a good selection of beers, wines, spirits etc as well as tea and coffee. I thought it had a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and enjoyed a couple of drinks in there.

Other options close by for food and drink include the airport where there’s a reasonable choice of outlets or you can take the train into Crawley – about 10 minutes away – where you’ll find some decent pubs and all the usual chain restaurants.

Hotel Facilities

As this is an airport hotel the facilities here are limited, however there is a good gym to keep you in shape while you’re away from home with modern and up to date equipment.

courtyardlgw4

Staff

I found the staff at the Courtyard to be friendly and efficient particularly at the reception desk. As my stay at the hotel was very short I didn’t have to speak to many of the staff but the one’s I did come into contact with seemed genuinely happy to help with any queries or questions I had.

In My Opinion

This hotel is what it is, a good efficient place to stay while on business or leisure in the Gatwick area. I had no complaints here and would happily recommend it to anyone who asked. Their holiday car parking packages are excellent value but book direct with the hotel as I feel that’s where the best prices are.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

