Hotel Review: The Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hotel-exterior
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

Hotel Overview

The Mandarin Orchard Singapore is located in the heart of the Orchard Road shopping district. The hotel has 1077 spacious guest rooms and suites designed with a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance and offering panoramic views of the city skyline from the upper floors. 

Right next to the hotel is Mandarin Gallery, a unique and intimate shopping destination filled with over 100 luxury brands selling exclusive merchandise from around the world.

The hotel offers several restaurants and bars to its guests including Chatterbox, home of the famous Mandarin Chicken Rice dish, as well as an international buffet restaurant and coffee shop.

Check In

I arrived at the hotel early evening after a very long flight, the lobby was busy but I was promptly greeted by a pleasant young lady who checked me in quickly and with minimal fuss. Within a few minutes I was on my way to the lifts and up to my room.

The main reception desk for the hotel is actually on the fifth floor and can be a little confusing when you first arrive but the door staff were very helpful and directed me straight there. The hotel has two separate towers and it seems that the fifth floor is the central area that links both towers together.

hotel-lobby
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

Accommodation

My room was on the 25th floor and overlooked the shops on and around Orchard Road, it was well insulated and quiet. To me the room was very standard for this type of hotel with all the usual facilities that you would expect. I had a large kingsize bed which I have to say was very comfortable, there were plenty of big soft pillows, something I think you can never have enough of.

IMG_4280

IMG_4282

There was a good sized desk with an office type chair and plenty of room to spread out and work if needed. The television had a number of English speaking channels and a reasonable choice of things to watch. There was free guest WiFi in the room which was great but at peak times it did seem to drop out fairly regularly. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available which I really appreciated as I was awake at all different hours because of my jet lag and the huge time difference with the UK. Whatever I used was replenished daily which was nice and doesn’t always happen in a lot of hotels.

IMG_4281

IMG_4286

The room also had a really comfortable easy chair and footstool which reclined by just leaning back, one of the most comfortable hotel room chairs I’ve ever used.

The bathroom was nice with a marble topped area around the sink, separate shower and bath tub. The shower was lovely and had a big rain type outlet and well as various other nozzles that I think could have been used for a water massage. There were plenty of amenities available including shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser as well as slippers and a bathrobe. Towels were plentiful and were of good quality.

IMG_4284

IMG_4283

Restaurants & Bars

As mentioned earlier the hotel has a good variety of bars and restaurants. Bar on 5 is a great place to chill out with a drink and has a resident DJ playing R&B and top 40 hits, as well as the indoor room there’s also an outside seating area.

bar-on-5-1
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

The hotel has three main restaurants, Triple Three, which boasts an extensive Japanese inspired international buffet. Chatterbox, which serves the famous Mandarin Chicken Rice and Shisen Hanten, a Szechwan restaurant. Coffee and Crust the hotels cosy cafe serves premium selections of coffee and tea as well as cakes, pastries and cookies.

triple-three
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

chatterbox

shisen-hanten
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

Room service at the hotel although a little pricey as you would expect at a hotel of this standard was very good and the food that I had was fresh and tasty and served very promptly.

Because of the hotels location on Orchard Road I think it’s worth getting out and about to experience some of Singapore’s restaurants and bars of which there are many in this area.

Hotel Facilities

Aside from all the eating and drinking options the hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool with loungers for catching some sun and maybe enjoying a cocktail, there’s also a tennis court and a fully equipped gym with everything needed to keep your routine going while you’re away from home.

14832375
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard
fitness-centre
Courtesy Mandarin Orchard

The hotel also offers a large scale events space with over 25,000 square feet of meeting and function rooms all with state of the art audio visual equipment and efficient internet connectivity.

Staff

All of the staff I had dealings with at the hotel were very professional and pleasant and any queries I had were sorted out without any fuss.

I lost a personal item while staying at the hotel and when I returned home and realised it was missing I contacted the hotel via email to see if it had been found. Within a few hours they had emailed me back to tell me it had been found and that they would keep it until my return the following month. When I went back I was reunited with my lost item. The staffs honesty and helpfulness really impressed me and I was and still am very grateful to those involved. Let me tell you that kind of thing doesn’t happen very often especially in hotels of that size.

In My Opinion

A nice hotel in a fantastic location with a clean and comfortable room. Big companies like this can spend all the money they want on decor and facilities but it’s the staff that make a difference and for me the staff here made a huge difference. I enjoyed my stay and I’ll definitely be back.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

