Mr Bell At Hyde Park’s Winter Wonderland

IMG_5335

Hyde Park is once again hosting its Winter Wonderland Christmas spectacular, and this year it seems is bigger than ever.

IMG_5329

IMG_5336

I arrived there at about 5 pm and was surprised to find it wasn’t as busy as I thought it would be. Following recent events in Paris security was tight and very visible which was reassuring.

IMG_5319_edited-1

IMG_5334_edited-1

There’s a lot going on at the Winter Wonderland and it made me feel very festive while I was walking around.

IMG_5333_edited-1

The ice skating rink around the bandstand is very pretty and when I visited there was a live singer singing Christmas songs from inside the bandstand.

IMG_5318_edited-1

If you’re looking for some Christmas gifts there are plenty of German style traditional market stalls selling everything from old fashioned sweets to Christmas themed hats and scarves.

IMG_5330_edited-1

For the thrill seekers there was a ton of rides to choose from some of which were Christmas themed, it was fun to be a spectator but you wouldn’t get me on any of those rides! There was plenty of rides for the younger one’s to enjoy as well.

IMG_5325

 

IMG_5327

What was quite nice to see was a lot of the old fashioned fairground games like the coconut shy and hoopla and hook a duck, I know they’re supposed to be fixed and some might say a bit of a rip off but I think they’re fun and it was nice to see them alongside all the modern stuff.

IMG_5337_edited-1

IMG_5338_edited-1

For food and drink there was a massive choice, there was plenty of places selling traditional gluhwein to warm you up as you wander around as well as all the usual drinks. The food selection was also very varied but I thought both were pretty pricey.

IMG_5341

Winter Wonderland is a great place to visit with friends or family and get you into the festive mood just have very deep pockets if you want to do any of the activities or eat or drink there, it’s not cheap.

Have you been to Winter Wonderland? What did you think?

 

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

