Mr Bell At Skate Somerset House

168_edited-1

Somerset House is one of my favourite places to visit in London, it’s such a beautiful building and somewhere to get away from the crowds except that is when Skate arrives.

IMG_5301_edited-1

167_edited-1

This year, as last, Skate is sponsored by upmarket department store Fortnum and Mason. The courtyard of Somerset House is transformed into a huge ice skating rink.

169_edited-1

166_edited-1

The buildings are beautifully lit and music is played while you skate. There are viewing areas and a bar if skating is not your thing.

IMG_5306_edited-1

IMG_5305_edited-1

There’s a beautiful tree just inside the main entrance to Somerset House from the Strand, all lit and decorated by Fortnum and Mason. I love the little picnic basket decorations, they’re so cute!

IMG_5302_edited-1

Fortnum’s also takes over part of the building where inside you’ll find different themed rooms selling some of their famous products. They even have some of their staff in there wearing the traditional tailcoat uniform.

IMG_5303_edited-1

To me this is what Christmas is all about in London and it really puts me in the festive mood.

Published by

mrbelltravels

I live in London and work for a large international airline but apart from being my job travel is my passion. I've been very lucky and have travelled all over the world. In this my 20th year working for the airline I decided to start photographing and writing about the places I visit including my home town London. I hope you enjoy my adventures around the world.

Leave a Reply

